‘Birds of Prey’ Receives MA 15+ Rating in Australia

Roadshow Films

Birds of Prey has been given its Australian classification.

The Margot Robbie-starring DC film has been handed an MA 15+ classification by Australia’s government classification board.  The rating was given for “strong themes, violence and coarse language.”

The rating means that those under the age of 15 are legally unable to see the film unless they are in the company of a parent or adult guardian. The classification is the same as given to previously-released DC movie Joker, which was given the rating for “strong violence.”

In the U.S., Birds of Prey has been rated R for “strong violence and language throughout, and some sexual and drug material.” An R rating in the U.S. is similar to Australia’s MA 15+, although the age limit there is higher at 17 – with parents or adult guardians able to accompany those under 17.

With films like Logan, Deadpool and Joker raking it in at the box office with higher ratings, the big studios are going through a phase of being a little more comfortable with comic book fare carrying adult content. Joker became the highest-grossing R-rated (US classification) of all time, earning a huge worldwide box office of $US1.07 billion.

Directed by Cathy Yan (Dead Pigs) and written by Christina Hodson (Bumblebee), Birds of Prey finds Harley Quinn joining superheroes Black Canary (Jurnee Smollett-Bell), Huntress (Mary Elizabeth Winstead) and Renee Montoya (Rosie Perez) to save a young girl (Ella Jay Basco) from an evil crime lord (Ewan McGregor).

The film hits Australian cinemas on February 6 and US cinemas on February 7.

Roadshow Films

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *