New ‘Bombshell’ Trailer: Kidman, Theron, Robbie Tackle Fox News Harassment in Oscar-Buzzed True Story

Photo Credit: Hilary Bronwyn Gayle / StudioCanal

The official trailer has arrived for Bombshell, the upcoming true story picture boasting a cast that includes Charlize Theron, Nicole Kidman, Margot Robbie and John Lithgow.

The film covers the real scandal that shook Fox News, namely the allegations and controversy surrounding the former boss, the late Roger Ailes. Theron looks almost unrecognisable as Megyn Kelly, who wrote about some of the harassment and troubling culture she experienced in a best-selling memoir. Kidman plays Gretchen Carlson, the TV host and journalist who sued Fox and was awarded $20 million in damages. And Margot Robbie plays a fictional associate producer named Kayla Pospisil, who the trailer shows finding herself under some very uncomfortable pressure thanks to Ailes, who is played by Lithgow.

Austin Powers and Meet the Parents helmer Jay Roach directs this one, with a screenplay from Charles Randolph (The Big Short) and Adam McKay (The Interpreter). That’s a strong cast and a narrative that should allow them to flex their skills well, and the Oscar buzz that’s starting to circle should bode well for what could be to one put on the ‘must see’ list. Fingers crossed.

Bombshell, also starring Kate McKinnon, Connie Britton, Mark Duplass, Rob Delaney, Allison Janney, and Malcolm McDowell as Rupert Murdoch, hits the US on December 20 and arrives in Australia on January 16.

Official synopsis for Bombshell:

Starring Academy Award® winner Charlize Theron, Academy Award® winner Nicole Kidman, Academy Award® nominee John Lithgow and Academy Award® nominee Margot Robbie, based on the real scandal, BOMBSHELL is a revealing look inside the most powerful and controversial media empire of all time; and the explosive story of the women who brought down the infamous man who created it. Directed by Emmy® Award winner Jay Roach and written by Academy Award® winner Charles Randolph.

BOMBSHELL also stars Emmy® Award winner Kate McKinnon, Golden Globe® nominee Connie Britton, Emmy® Award winner Mark Duplass, Emmy® Award nominee Rob Delaney, Golden Globe® nominee Malcolm McDowell and Academy Award® winner Allison Janney.

Photo Credit: Hilary Bronwyn Gayle / StudioCanal
Photo Credit: Hilary Bronwyn Gayle / StudioCanalnwyn Gayle.
Photo Credit: Hilary Bronwyn Gayle / StudioCanal