Cannes 2017 Winners List, with Film Trailers & Clips

Joaquin Phoenix in ‘You Were Never Really Here’ | Cannes Film Festival

The winners of the 2017 Cannes Film Festival have been announced.

The high-profile film festival this year had a jury consisting of Spanish filmmaker Pedro Almodóvar, German filmmaker Maren Ade, South Korean filmmaker Park Chan-wook, Italian filmmaker Paolo Sorrentino, American actress Jessica Chastain, American actor Will Smith, Chinese actress Fan Bingbing, Jaoui, and French composer Gabriel Yared.

  • Palme d’Or – The Square, director: Ruben Ostlund

The Palme d’Or (best film) was awarded to The Square, a satirical drama from Force Majeure director Ruben Ostlund. Starring Claes Bang, Elisabeth Moss, Dominic West and Terry Notary, the film tells the story of Christian, the successful curator of a modern art museum. After he is mugged, Christian embarks on a hunt for the thief and finds himself in increasingly more amusing situations that have him questioning his moral compass.

  • Grand Prix – 120 Beats Per Minute, director: Robin Campillo

The Grand Prix, the “second place” award, was bestowed upon Robin Campillo’s (The Class) drama 120 Beats Per Minute. The film is set in the early 1990s and follows Act up-Paris (AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power) activists as they fight the general indifference that exists towards AIDS.

  • Best Director – Sofia Coppola, The Beguiled

Sofia Coppola has become the second female filmmaker to ever win the Best Director prize at Cannes. The Lost in Translation and The Virgin Suicides helmer was awarded the honour for her work crafting The Beguiled, the upcoming gothic thriller starring Nicole Kidman and Colin Farrell. “I was thrilled to get this movie made and it’s such an exciting start to be honored in Cannes,” the director said in a statement.

  • Best Actor – Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really Here

Three-time Oscar nominee Joaquin Phoenix can now add a Cannes Best Actor win to his list of accolades. You Were Never Really Here finds the actor playing a grizzled war veteran whose attempt to save a young girl from a sex trafficking ring goes horribly wrong. We Need to Talk About Kevin helmer Lynne Ramsay writes and directs.

  • Best Actress – Diane Kruger, In the Fade

Diane Kruger was awarded Best Actress for her acclaimed turn in the revenge drama In the Fade, which follows a woman out for vengeance after her family is killed by a terrorist bombing. Fatih Akin (Head On, The Edge of Heaven) writes and directs this one.

  • Jury Prize – Loveless, director: Andrey Zvyagintsev

The Jury Prize, the third-most prestigious prize at the festival, was handed to Loveless, the new drama from acclaimed Russian filmmaker Andrei Zvyagintsev (The Return, Elena, Leviathan). The plot follows a troubled couple who must come together to find their son when he disappears during one of their bitter arguments.

  • Best Screenplay – Tie win for Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthymis Filippou, The Killing of a Sacred Deer and Lynne Ramsay, You Were Never Really Here

Best screenplay was a two-way tie: Yorgos Lanthimos’ (Dogtooth, The LobsterThe Killing of a Sacred Deer, which features The Beguiled stars Colin Farrell and Nicole Kidman in a drama-horror pic about a teenager’s attempt to bring a brilliant surgeon into his dysfunctional family, and Ramsay’s You Were Never Really here.

  • Special Mention – The Ceiling, director: Teppo Airaksinen

  • Caméra d’Or – Jeune Femme, director: Leonor Serraille
  • Short Film Palme d’Or – A Gentle Night, director: Qui Yang
  • Special 70th Anniversary Prize – Nicole Kidman