‘Jurassic World’ Sequel Title and Poster Unveiled

Image credit: Chuck Zlotnick / Universal Pictures

One year away from the release of Jurassic World‘s sequel, Universal has dropped the film’s first official poster and revealed its title.

The follow-up to 2015’s hugely successful Jurassic World, lined up for U.S. release on June 22, 2018, is Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom. Take a look at the first official movie poster below.

There’s not too much to go on from that teaser poster, although the darkness, cracks and sparks certainly hint at a deadly serious tone. And that tagline is a quote from Jeff Goldblum’s Dr. Ian Malcolm in the Steven Spielberg’s ’93 original Jurassic Park. Goldblum, as was reported in April, will be reprising the role in the new film.

The sequel, the fifth film in the franchise, is being directed by Spanish helmer J.A. Bayona, known for The Orphanage, The Impossible, and A Monster Calls. The screenplay comes from Derek Connolly and Colin Trevorrow, the latter of whom directed Jurassic World and is also back as executive producer.

In an interview with Josh Horowitz’s HappySadConfused podcast, Trevorrow talked about working with Bayona on the sequel.

“It is thus far my favourite creative collaboration that I’ve ever been involved in,” Trevorrow said. “J.A. Bayona is a completely different kind of filmmaker and thinker than I am, yet we do have a lot of things in common so I was able to craft something specifically for another filmmaker that I admire. I built a Spanish horror thriller with dinosaurs in it that I probably wouldn’t have built for myself.”

And as to how Bayona’s sequel will compare to his chapter…

“I gotta tell you man, I think that’s gonna be a better movie. I just do. It’s just deeper, it’s more character-based, it definitely leans into suspense, especially in the second half. It does have the big action in the middle and there’s a sequence in the middle that I’ve been watching… I’ve started to see stuff come together and it’s just insane.”

Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom will bring back Chris Pratt and Bryce Dallas Howard as leads and will also star Ted Levine, Toby Jones, James Cromwell, BD Wong, Rafe Spall and Geraldine Chaplin.

Image credit: Universal Pictures
Image credit: Universal Pictures






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *