Ken Loach Tops 2016 Cannes Film Festival Honours

Ken Loach's 'I, Daniel Blake'
Ken Loach’s ‘I, Daniel Blake’

The winners of this year’s Cannes Film Festival have been chosen.

After what is reportedly one of the longest periods of deliberation for a Cannes Jury, which was this year led by Australian director George Miller, the prizes were as expected: Both in line and against the critical reception afforded to each film.

The top prize was handed to I, Daniel Blake, the latest film from English filmmaker Ken Loach. This marks the second time Loach has won the coveted award; Loach took home the award for The Wind That Shakes the Barley back in 2006. I, Daniel Blake stars Dave Johns as Dan, a middle-aged carpenter who requires state welfare after injuring himself, and who is joined by a single mother in a similar scenario.

The Grand Prize (second place) went to Xavier Dolan’s It’s Only the End of the World, a film that received mixed reviews after its screening. It’s Deadline‘s opinion that the film, which tells of a terminally ill writer returning home after a long absence to tell his family that he is dying, was simply not worthy of the award, saying the choice “may be the worst Cannes Jury decision in several years.”

Cristian Mungiu and Olivier Assayas tied for the Best Director prize, winning for Graduation and Personal Shopper respectively. Personal Shopper, starring Kristen Stewart received a mix of applause and boos during its screening.

Asghar Farhadi’s The Salesman took home two awards, winning both Best Screenplay (Farhadi) and Best Actor (Shahab Hosseini).

This year’s highly contended Best Actress award went to Jaclyn Jose for her performance in the Filipino drama Ma’Rosa.

Check out the complete list of winners below:

  • Palme d’Or
    I, Daniel Blake, dir: Ken Loach
  • Grand Prize
    Xavier Dolan, It’s Only The End Of The World
  • Best Director
    Cristian Mungiu, Graduation
    Olivier Assayas, Personal Shopper
  • Best Screenplay
    Asghar Farhadi, The Salesman
  • Best Actress
    Jaclyn Jose, Ma’Rosa
  • Jury Prize
    American Honey, dir: Andrea Arnold
  • Best Actor
    Shahab Hosseini, The Salesman
  • Palme d’Honneur
    Jean-Pierre Léaud
  • Caméra d’Or
    Divines, dir: Uda Benyamina
  • Short Film Palme d’Or
    Timecode, dir: Juanjo Gimenez
  • Special Mention
    The Girl Who Danced With The Devil, dir: Joao Paulo Miranda Maria

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *