Marvel Movies 2021: Release Dates and Info for MCU’s ‘Black Widow’, ‘Shang-Chi’, ‘Eternals’ & ‘Spider-Man 3’

Here’s where you will find the basic info on the four Marvel Cinematic Universe movies being released in cinemas (that’s the plan, so far) in 2021! Yep, PHASE FOUR is about to kick off…

We’ll be updating the below whenever Disney/Marvel unveil different official synopses, when they drop trailers for Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings and Eternals, and if they announce any release dates changes (at this point, anything’s possible).


  • Australian release date: 29th April 2021
  • US release date: 7th May 2021

In Marvel Studios’ action-packed spy thriller Black Widow, Natasha Romanoff aka Black Widow confronts the darker parts of her ledger when a dangerous conspiracy with ties to her past arises. Pursued by a force that will stop at nothing to bring her down, Natasha must deal with her history as a spy and the broker relationships left in her wake long before she became an Avenger.


Scarlett Johansson reprises her role as Natasha/Black Widow, Florence Pugh stars as Yelena, David Harbour portrays Alexei/The Red Guardian, and Rachel Weisz is Melinda.


Directed by Cate Shortland (Lore, Somersault, Berlin Syndrome) and produced by Kevin Feige, Black Widow – the first film in Phase Four of the Marvel Cinematic Universe–hits Australian cinemas on April 29, 2021.


  • Australian release date: 8 July 2021
  • US release date: 9th July 2021
Marvel Studios

Simu Liu stars as Shang-Chi in Marvel Studios’ Shang-Chi and The Legend of The Ten Rings. Shang-Chi must confront the past he thought he left behind when he is drawn into the web of the mysterious Ten Rings organization.


The film’s cast also includes Tony Leung as Wenwu, Awkwafina as Shang-Chi’s friend Katy, and Michelle Yeoh as Jiang Nan. Additionally, Fala Chen, Meng’er Zhang, Florian Munteanu and Ronny Chieng appear in the upcoming movie, which is directed by Destin Daniel Cretton (Short Term 12, Just Mercy).


  • Australian release date: 28th October 2021
  • US release date: 5th November 2021

Marvel Studios’ Eternals features an exciting new team of Super Heroes in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, ancient aliens who have been living on Earth in secret for thousands of years. Following the events of “Avengers: Endgame”, on unexpected tragedy forces them out of the shadows to reunite against mankind‘s most ancient enemy, The Deviants.


The outstanding ensemble cast includes Richard Madden as the all-powerful lkaris, Gemma Chan as humankind-loving Sersi, Kumail Nanjiani as cosmic-powered Kingo, Lauren Ridloff as the super-fast Makkari, Brian Tyree Henry as the intelligent inventor Phastos, Salma Hayek as the wise and spiritual leader Ajak, Lia McHugh as the eternally young, old-soul Sprite, Don Lee as the powerful Gilgamesh, Barry Keoghan as aloof loner Druig, and Angelina Jolie as the fierce warrior Thena. Kit Harington was cast as Dane Whitman.


Directed by Chloé Zhao, who helmed the critically acclaimed Sundance film “The Rider,” and produced by Kevin Feige, Eternals opens in Australian cinemas on October 28, 2021.


  • US release date: 17 December 2021

Cast: Tom Holland, Jamie Foxx, Benedict Cumberbatch, Zendaya, Jacob Batalon, Marisa Tomei, and Alfred Molina.

Director: Jon Watts (Spider-Man: Homecoming, Spider-Man: Far from Home)