Oscars 2018: Complete List of Winners and Nominees

The Shape of Water has won big at the 90th Academy Awards.

Romantic-fantasy The Shape of Water was chosen as Best Picture, Guillermo del Toro earned his first win for Best Director, and the film was also handed wins for best score (composer Alexandre Desplat’s second Oscar) and Best Production Design.

Lead acting nods went to Gary Oldman for The Darkest Hour and Frances McDormand for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, while Sam Rockwell and Allison Janney received Supporting Actor wins for Three Billboards and I, Tonya respectively.

Jordan Peele took home an Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay for Get Out and three-time Oscar nominated writer James Ivory has won Best Adapted Screenplay for Call Me By Your Name.

Other awards of note on include a long-overdue Best Cinematography win following thirteen Oscar nominations for D.O.P. extraordinaire Roger Deakins (No Country for Old Men, Sicario), winning for Blade Runner 2049; the first Foreign Language Film nod for Chile, winning for Sebastián Lelio’s A Fantastic Woman; and Aussie editor Lee Smith winning his first Academy Award for Dunkirk.

Peruse the complete list of winners and nominees below:

Image credit: 20th Century Fox

Best Picture

  • The Shape of Water (WINNER)
  • Call Me by Your Name
  • Darkest Hour
  • Dunkirk
  • Get Out
  • Lady Bird
  • Phantom Thread
  • The Post
  • Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri
Image credit: Photo by Kerry Hayes / Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation

Best Director

  • Guillermo del Toro – The Shape of Water (WINNER)
  • Christopher Nolan – Dunkirk
  • Greta Gerwig – Lady Bird
  • Jordan Peele – Get Out
  • Paul Thomas Anderson – Phantom Thread
Image credit: Jack English / Focus Features

Best Actor

  • Gary Oldman – Darkest Hour (WINNER)
  • Timothée Chalamet – Call Me by Your Name
  • Daniel Day-Lewis – Phantom Thread
  • Daniel Kaluuya – Get Out
  • Denzel Washington – Roman J. Israel, Esq.
Image credit: Merrick Morton / Twentieth Century Fox

Best Actress

  • Frances McDormand – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (WINNER)
  • Sally Hawkins – The Shape of Water
  • Margot Robbie – I, Tonya
  • Saoirse Ronan – Lady Bird
  • Meryl Streep – The Post
Image via Fox Searchlight

Best Supporting Actor

  • Sam Rockwell – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (WINNER)
  • Willem Dafoe – The Florida Project
  • Woody Harrelson – Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri
  • Richard Jenkins – The Shape of Water
  • Christopher Plummer – All the Money in the World
Roadshow Films

Best Supporting Actress

  • Allison Janney – I, Tonya (WINNER)
  • Mary J. Blige – Mudbound
  • Lesley Manville – Phantom Thread
  • Laurie Metcalf – Lady Bird
  • Octavia Spencer – The Shape of Water
Image credit: Sony Pictures Classics

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Call Me by Your Name – James Ivory (WINNER)
  • The Disaster Artist – Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber
  • Logan – Scott Frank & James Mangold and Michael Green
  • Molly’s Game – Aaron Sorkin
  • Mudbound – Virgil Williams and Dee Rees
Universal Pictures

Best Original Screenplay

  • Get Out – Jordan Peele (WINNER)
  • The Big Sick – Emily V. Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani
  • Lady Bird – Greta Gerwig
  • Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri – Martin McDonagh
  • The Shape of Water – Guillermo del Toro and Vanessa Taylor
Image credit: Stephen Vaughan / Warner Bros.

Best Cinematography

  • Blade Runner 2049 – Roger Deakins (WINNER)
  • Darkest Hour – Bruno Delbonnel
  • Dunkirk – Hoyte van Hoytema
  • Mudbound – Rachel Morrison
  • The Shape of Water – Dan Laustsen
Image credit: Universal Pictures International

Best Costume Design

  • Phantom Thread – Mark Bridges (WINNER)
  • Beauty and the Beast – Jacqueline Durran
  • Darkest Hour – Jacqueline Durran
  • The Shape of Water – Luis Sequeira
  • Victoria & Abdul – Consolata Boyle
Image credit: Melinda Sue Gordon / Warner Bros.

Best Editing

  • Dunkirk – Lee Smith (WINNER)
  • Baby Driver – Jonathan Amos and Paul Machliss
  • I, Tonya – Tatiana S. Riegel
  • The Shape of Water – Sidney Wolinsky
  • Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri – Jon Gregory
Image credit: Jack English / Focus Features

Best Makeup & Hairstyling

  • Darkest Hour (WINNER)
  • Victoria & Abdul
  • Wonder

Best Original Score

  • The Shape of Water – Alexandre Desplat (WINNER)
  • Dunkirk – Hans Zimmer
  • Phantom Thread – Jonny Greenwood
  • Star Wars: The Last Jedi – John Williams
  • Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri – Carter Burwell

Best Original Song

  • “Remember Me” from Coco – Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez (WINNER)
  • “Mighty River” from Mudbound – Mary J. Blige
  • “Mystery of Love” from Call Me by Your Name – Sufjan Stevens
  • “This Is Me” from The Greatest Showman – Benj Pasek and Justin Paul
  • “Stand Up for Something” from Marshall – Diane Warren and Common

Best Production Design

  • The Shape of Water (WINNER)
  • Beauty and the Beast
  • Blade Runner 2049
  • Darkest Hour
  • Dunkirk

Best Sound Editing

  • Dunkirk (WINNER)
  • Baby Driver
  • Blade Runner 2049
  • The Shape of Water
  • Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Best Sound Mixing

  • Dunkirk (WINNER)
  • Baby Driver
  • Blade Runner 2049
  • The Shape of Water
  • Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Best Visual Effects

  • Blade Runner 2049 (WINNER)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 2
  • Kong: Skull Island
  • Star Wars: The Last Jedi
  • War for the Planet of the Apes

Best Animated Feature

  • Coco (WINNER)
  • The Boss Baby
  • The Breadwinner
  • Ferdinand
  • Loving Vincent

Best Foreign Language Film

  • A Fantastic Woman – Chile (WINNER)
  • The Insult – Lebanon
  • Loveless – Russia
  • On Body and Soul – Hungary
  • The Square – Sweden

Best Documentary Feature

  • Icarus (WINNER)
  • Abacus: Small Enough to Jail
  • Faces Places
  • Last Men in Aleppo
  • Strong Islan

Best Documentary – Short Subject

  • Heaven is a Traffic Jam on the 405 (WINNER)
  • Edith+Eddie
  • Heroin(e)
  • Knife Skills
  • Traffic Stop

Best Short Film – Animated

  • Dear Basketball – (WINNER)
  • Garden Party
  • Lou
  • Negative Space
  • Revolting Rhymes

Best Short Film – Live-Action

  • The Silent Child (WINNER)
  • DeKalb Elementary
  • The Eleven O’Clock
  • My Nephew Emmett
  • Watu Wote/All of Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.